By Craig D'Andrea
This edition of the “Then and Now” photo series showcases archived and contemporary photos Northport Village’s most-iconic landmarks. This is a visual approach to compare original buildings and structures to what stands in their places today. The archived photos were obtained through The Northport Historical Society, which is housed by the former Northport library at 215 Main St. in Northport.
THEN & NOW:
The above photo blends the 1975 view at the western foot of Main Street looking east with that of the view found today. At the end of World War I, trolley lines throughout the country began to decline. On Aug. 19, 1924 the Northport Village line made its last scheduled run. Part of the Town of Huntington local HART bus route follows that of the former trolley line. The remnants of the Northport Village line can still be found along Main Street, as seen in both photos. The Northport Sweet Shop and Real Estate & Insurance buildings that appear on the left side have remained unchanged, as well as a sign on the right that reads “Diner.”
THEN & NOW:
First Presbyterian Church
The First Presbyterian Church, above, was built by Henry and Charles Sammis in 1874. The photo on the left was taken in 1900. Despite many renovations to the church since then, the church today maintains the same overall look. Its most recent renovation in 2010 cost approximately $2.3 million. The only noticeable difference in these photos is the addition of the power lines that stretch across Main Street.
THEN & NOW: Woodbine and Scudder avenues
This reproduction from an image that was used on a post card captures the Northport Village intersection of Woodbine and Scudder avenues in 1915 and today. The view looks north up Woodbine Avenue, where a horse and carriage, and the Northport Village trolley can be seen. The location where the shops are shown on the left is used for parking today. The building on the right, which today houses Vision Long Island, appears the same as it did over a century ago.
THEN & NOW: The Northport Historical Society
This building at 215 Main St. functioned as the Northport library until 1967. In 1974, it was converted into the home of the Northport Historical Society Museum. The first photo was taken in 1975, after the building was converted. The building was designed and built in 1914, with $10,000 provided by Andrew Carnegie. It was one of 107 libraries constructed in New York from 1885-1919. It is a small masonry structure in the Jacobethan Revival style and was expanded in 1958. The site was also added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1996.
THEN & NOW:
The above photos contrast the 1916 view of Northport Harbor at the western foot Main Street, with that of today’s view from the same point. A century ago, before the rise of automobiles, the foot of Main Street didn’t consist of parking spots. Instead, there was a laundry shop, as seen on the left, and a coal yard on the right. Although there was a trolley line, horse and buggy was a popular method of transportation given the dirt road.